If you want your voice to be heard, get involved.

Lent / Easter Schedule

Lent / Easter Schedule

Lent / Easter Schedule

Ash Wednesday

MMOP: 9:00 am and 7:00 pm

SMA: 9:00 am English (no noon Mass); 7:00 pm Spanish

Stations of the Cross every Friday in Lent except Good Friday

MMOP: 5 pm

SMA: 6:30 pm English and 7:30 pm Spanish

Parish Penance Service

Sunday before Palm Sunday, 2:00 pm at Mary Mother of Peace 


Every Saturday before Mass

MMOP: Saturday 3 - 3:45 pm

SMA: Saturday 4:00 - 4:20 pm Spanish, 6:30 - 6:50 pm English


Holy Week

Holy Thursday
Mass of the Lord's Supper

MMOP: 7 pm Mass

SMA: 7 pm in Spanish

Good Friday
SMA: 2:00 pm Re-enactment of the Stations of the Cross - Shpanish

MMOP: 3 pm Reading of the Passion, Veneration of the Cross, Communion Service

SMA: 7:00 am Reading of the Passion, Veneration of the Cross, Communion Service - Spanish

Easter Vigil, Saturday

Blessing of the Food: 12 noon at Mary Mother of Peace

MMOP: 7:30 pm Mass (no 4 PM Mass or confessions)

SMA: 8:30 pm Mass in Spanish (no 4:30 PM Spanish or 7 pm English Mass or confessions)

Easter, Sunday

MMOP: 7:30,  and 11 am Mass

SMA: 9:000 am Mass - English

SMA: 12:00 pm Mass - Spanish

Times subject to change


Lent is the penitential season for the Church's year.  It begins on Ash Wednesday and ends with the Mass of the Lord's Supper on Holy Thursday. Lent has six Sundays.  The sixth is called Passion or Palm Sunday and marks the beginning of Holy Week.

The Easter Triduum begins with the evening Mass for the Lord's Supper on Holy Thursday.  It commemorated the Lord's passion and death on Good Friday, reaches it's high point at the Easter Vigil and ends with the evening Prayer on Easter Sunday.  Then the joyful Easter Season of 50 days begins.

Traditionally, the Lenten season is a time of  penance throughout the Catholic Church.  Lent is a season in which prayer, the reception of the sacraments, charity and almsgiving are emphasized.  Fast and abstinence are to be observed Ash Wednesday and Good Friday.  All the Fridays of Lent are days of abstinence from meat.


Lenten Regulations

Weekdays of Lent: There is no obligation to fast however voluntary acts of self-denial are recommended.

Ash Wednesday and Good Friday: These are days of Fast and Abstinence from meat.
There is a limit of one full meal on these days for all between ages of 18 and 59 inclusive.

Days of Abstinence:
(All Fridays in Lent) All who have reached their 14th year are bound to abstain totally from meat.

Easter Duty Obligation: After they have received their First Holy Communion, Catholics are bound by the obligation of receiving Holy Communion at least once a year.

This precept should be fulfilled during the Easter Season. Catholics are also bound to confess serious (mortal) sins at least once a year, but this is not limited to the Lenten/Easter Season.