If you want your voice to be heard, get involved.

Catechism of the Catholic Church

Catechism of the Catholic Church

Documents for the Catholic Church:

click here to access the Catechism of the Catholic Church

Catechism of the Catholic Church

In 1985, at a synod of bishops in Rome convened to celebrate the twentieth anniversary of the conclusion of the Second Vatican Council, a proposal to develop a universal catechism for the Catholic Church was made and accepted.  The outcome was the Catechism of the Catholic Church, first published in 1992,  A new edition with some modifications was released in 1997.

Canon Law

Canon is the Greek word for rule, norm, standard or measure. It is used in several ways in church language:

  1. The canon of Sacred Scripture is the list of books recognized by the church as inspired by the Holy Spirit.
  2. Before the liturgical reforms of the Second Vatican Council, the single eucharistic prayer used universally in the Latin Mass was called the Roman Canon. Now that there are four eucharistic prayers in general use, they are usually referred to as Eucharistic Prayer I, II, III or IV, but they may also be called canons. The first of these is still called the Roman Canon because it is nearly identical to the original Roman Canon
  3. Canon is another name for a law in the Code of Canon Law. (Adjective form is canonical.)

Canon Law is a code of ecclesiastical laws governing the Catholic Church. In the Latin or Western Church, the governing code is the 1983 Code of Canon Law, a revision of the 1917 Code of Canon Law. A separate but parallel Code of Canons of the Eastern Churches, issued in 1990, governs the Eastern Catholic churches. That document was the first comprehensive code of church law governing all Eastern Catholic churches.

Bible:  The New American Bible, Revised Edition (NABRE)

Released on March 9, 2011, the New American Bible, Revised Edition (NABRE) is the culmination of nearly 20 years of work by a group of nearly 100 scholars and theologians, including bishops, revisers and editors. The NABRE includes a newly revised translation of the entire Old Testament (including the Book of Psalms) along with the 1986 edition of the New Testament.

See also:

Catholic Social Teaching